Get your startup ready for the future

How will our energy supply look in the future? Which waste management measures will lead the way in future? How will we get around, how will we communicate and how does digital energy work? – If these are your topics, then we are the right partner for you. Because kraftwerk is the place for entrepreneurs, founders and startups who are passionate about shaping tomorrow’s urban infrastructure. Smart. Sustainable. Renewable.

Our topics

  • Rethinking energy
  • Digital business models
  • Industry 4.0
  • New waste management solutions

What you can expect

After intensive review of all written applications, we’ll invite the best startup teams to come to Bremen. If you make it through the preliminary selection, you’ll be part of the 2-day selection process, the award ceremony for the Smart Tech Trophy 2017, €4,000 prize money, 14 months in the accelerator, up to €60,000 of financial support for you and your team, highly-qualified tutors from the areas of business, technology and sales, and an invitation to an individual workshop. All this is to get you and your company on the right track.

But that’s not all. As winner, you’ll have doors opened for a direct access to markets, and guaranteed collaboration with experts from our affiliates. We at kraftwerk can offer you, along with our broad knowledge, access to our extensive network of high-quality partners and clients from a variety of industries. At kraftwerk, we’ll work with you to find the answers to tomorrow’s important questions. The energy providers swb and EWE, as well as the Mercedes-Benz Bremen Plant, are on board.

Interested?

We’re looking for young companies for innovative and successful collaboration. Are you what we’re looking for? Then convince us of your idea, your personality, and your team, and we’ll invite you to our 3-day “Selection Days”.

This is our plan

Day #1 “Pitch Day” (14/11/17): You present your idea to our jury of experts. If your presentation is a winning one, you’ll be accepted into Round 2.

Day #2 “Qualifying” (15/11/2017): We’ll take a close look at your business venture together with you and with business and industry experts. Together, we’ll decide on your possible participation in the sponsoring programme in the accelerator (begins January 2018).

Day #3 Awarding of the “SMART TECH TROPHY 2017” (16/11/2017): The top 5 teams will qualify for the final pitch. We’ll reward the most winning business idea with the Smart Tech Trophy 2017 and prize money in the amount of €4,000. Moreover we’ll award €1,000 to the team with the “best pitch of the evening”.

Who may apply?

Anyone with a good share of courage, commitment, and the determination to get his or her idea started in Germany, is welcome to apply.
Does your project fit our current criteria? Want to move your company forward here in Bremen? Then apply for a chance to win a place in our kraftwerk accelerator.

Good luck!



How and until when can I apply?

Send us your idea using the form below by 13th August 2017.



The support programme

The kraftwerk accelerator programme offers extensive support to startups.

Support is offered for 14 months, in three phases: The first phase (six months) focuses on the development of the business concept.
The second phase (four months) involves the concept’s establishment and investment.
It shall also involve the development of necessary commercial expertise.
The third and final phase (four months) concentrates on market development, market launch and the establishment of sales foundations and sales activities.

In detail

Each startup team in the sponsoring programme will be accompanied by a tutor. This tutor will be available to the startup team at all times as contact partner and supporter. The tutor mediates contact with experts in the respective companies, and supports the startup teams in the further development of their business concepts. The startup teams will be given access to expert support from both the companies’ technical and administrative areas. We operate real facilities and have real customers. We have access to the markets: we can also offer use of business data for the further development of business concepts.

In each phase, the startup team and the tutor will agree on objectives, and together will examine the successful achievement of these objectives at the end of the phase. If these objectives are met,
the team moves into the next phase. If the objectives have not been met, the cause for this will be examined, and the support programme may possibly be terminated.

kraftwerk supports the startup team over the entire course of the sponsoring programme. In the first phase, up to two members of the startup may each receive €1,500 each month. After the 7th month this may increase to up to three members, and after the 11th month up to four team members may receive €1,500 per month. This funding is meant to ensure that the startup team can develop as a company,
and that it learn to rise to the growing challenges with the necessary competences. Extensive workshops shall be offered in order to build up the necessary skills. A co-working space serves as a workplace for all startup teams, and provides room for communal exchange.

In return for our support we will receive a share of ten percent from the business concept or the company. This commits swb or the affiliate to the business concept as joint partner. swb has no interest in entrepreneurship, and will not use any business idea without consultation with the startup. On the contrary; as a strong partner, swb will be an additional guarantor for the business concept’s successful implementation.

Our experts are here in Bremen, where we have our facilities and access to our markets. Therefore a strong presence in Bremen is necessary for the startup in order to ensure optimal support.

Between 23rd June and 13th August 2017, startup teams from all over the world are welcome to apply in connection with the topics announced by kraftwerk.
A completed application form shall suffice to gain admission to the selection days in Bremen on 14-16 November 2017.
http://kraftwerk-accelerator.com/en/apply-form/
Selected startups will receive an invitation by mid-October 2017.

On the two selection days, experts from the affiliate companies will intensively examine the startup teams present and the submitted business concepts and decide who will be supported in the accelerator programme as at January 2018.

The final pitch day and awarding of the Smart Tech Trophy is 16th November 2017:
only a small number of applicant teams will be invited to present their concept, one last time, to the audience. The winning team will received the coveted Smart Tech Trophy and a monetary prize of 4,000 euros during the formal award ceremony.

Rethinking energy

  • Sustainable energy supply for industrial companies in conurbation areas
  • Smart energy management in the home of tomorrow (e-mobility, prosumer, etc.)
  • Digital sector coupling
  • Alternatives to grid development
  • Innovative PV solutions
  • Storage and peak-load concepts

Digital business models

  • Prosumer models (B2B, B2C)
  • Blockchain
  • Use of data for marketing of services and for the development of new business models
  • Smart home (private and industrial)

Industry 4.0

  • Virtual augemented reality, especially for training
  • Predictive maintenance (renewable energies)
  • Voice-operated production support
  • Product identification, -tracking, -localization, -controlling

New waste solutions

  • Recycling of wind turbine blades
  • Recycling of storage devices/batteries

We will reimburse travel costs (per team, upon submission of receipts) up to the following amounts:

  • Travel from within Germany – 100 euros
  • Travel to Germany from within Europe – 250 euros
  • Travel from outside of Europe – 1,000 euros

You are free to organise your own lodgings.

We’ll also give you a subsidy of up to 50 euros/per person/per night for max. two persons and max. four nights for your lodging costs, upon submission of receipt.

For the reimbursement of travel and lodging costs, please bring your original receipts to kraftwerk and fill out a cost reimbursement form there.

Mach dein Startup fit für die Zukunft.

Wie sieht unsere zukünftige Energieversorgung aus? Welche Maßnahmen des Abfallmanagements werden künftig wegweisend sein? Wie werden wir uns bewegen, wie kommunizieren und wie funktioniert digitale Energie? – Wenn das deine Themen sind, sind wir der richtige Partner für dich. Denn kraftwerk ist der Ort für Unternehmer_innen, Gründer_innen und Startups, die mit Leidenschaft die Infrastruktur der Stadt von morgen gestalten wollen. Smart, nachhaltig und erneuerbar.

Unsere Themen

  • Energie neu denken
  • Digitale Geschäftsmodelle
  • Industrie 4.0
  • Neue Abfalllösungen

Was dich erwartet

Nach einer intensiven Prüfung aller schriftlichen Bewerbungen laden wir die besten Startup Teams zu uns nach Bremen ein. Wenn du es in diese Auswahl geschafft hast, erwarten dich 2 Tage Auswahlprozess, die Preisverleihung zur Smart Tech Trophy 2017, 4.000€ Preisgeld, 14 Monate im Accelerator, bis zu 60.000€ finanzielle Unterstützung für dich und dein Team, hochqualifizierte Tutoren aus Wirtschaft, Technik und Vertrieb sowie ein individuelles Workshop-Angebot. Das alles bringt dich und dein Unternehmen auf den richtigen Weg.

Aber das ist längst nicht alles. Wenn du dich durchsetzt, öffnen wir dir die Türen für einen direkten Marktzugang und garantieren dir die Zusammenarbeit mit Experten aus unseren Partnerunternehmen. Denn neben einem breitgefächerten Know-how bieten wir dir im kraftwerk den Zugang zu unserem großen Netzwerk bestehend aus hochkarätigen Partnern und Kunden aus vielfältigen Branchen. Gemeinsam mit dir suchen wir im kraftwerk Antworten auf die wichtigen Fragen von morgen. Mit dabei ist neben den Energieversorgern swb und EWE auch das Mercedes-Benz Werk Bremen.

Bist du dabei?

Wir suchen junge Unternehmen für eine innovative erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit. Du glaubst, du bist der, den wir brauchen oder genau die Richtige? Dann überzeuge uns von deiner Idee, von deiner Person, deinem Team und wir laden dich zu unseren 3-tägigen „Selection Days“ ein.

Das ist unser Plan

Tag #1 „Pitch Day“ (14.11.17): Du stellst deine Idee unserer Experten-Jury vor. Wenn du mit deinem Vortrag überzeugst, geht es für dich weiter in Runde 2.

Tag #2 „Qualifying“ (15.11.17): Wir schauen mit dir und Experten aus Wirtschaft und Industrie intensiv auf dein Geschäftsvorhaben. Gemeinsam entscheiden wir über deine Teilnahme am Förderprogramm im Accelerator (Beginn: Januar 2018).

Tag #3 Verleihung derSMART TECH TROPHY 2017“ (16.11.17): Die Top-5-Teams qualifizieren sich für den finalen Pitch. Die überzeugendste Geschäftsidee zeichnen wir mit der Smart Tech Trophy 2017und einem Preisgeld in Höhe von 4.000€ aus. Außerdem prämieren wir das Team mit dem besten Pitch des Abends mit 1.000€.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

Teilnehmen kann jede_r mit einer ordentlichen Portion Mut, Engagement und Entschlossenheit, mit seiner Idee in Deutschland durchzustarten.
Passt dein Vorhaben zu unseren aktuellen Fragestellungen? Möchtest du hier in Bremen dein Unternehmen ganz nach vorne bringen? Dann bewirb dich und gewinne die Teilnahme an unserem kraftwerk Accelerator.

Viel Erfolg!



Wie und bis wann kannst du dich bewerben?

Schicke uns deine Idee bitte bis spätestens 13. August 2017 über das nachfolgende Formular.



Das Förderprogramm

Das kraftwerk Accelerator-Programm bietet Startups umfangreiche Unterstützung.

Die Förderung hat eine Laufzeit von 14 Monaten, die in drei Phasen unterteilt sind: In der ersten Phase (sechs Monate) steht die Weiterentwicklung der Geschäftsidee im Fokus.
In der zweiten Phase (vier Monate) findet die Gründung/Beteiligung statt.
Des weiteren wird an dem Aufbau notwendiger kaufmännischer Kompetenzen gearbeitet.
In der dritten und letzten Phase (vier Monate) liegen die Schwerpunkte in der Marktentwicklung, dem Markteintritt sowie dem Aufbau von Vertriebsgrundlagen und -Aktivitäten.

Im Detail

Jedes Startup-Team wird von einem Tutor/einer Tutorin durch das Förderprogramm begleitet. Diese(r) Tutor(in) steht dem Startup-Team jederzeit als Ansprechpartner und Unterstützer zur Verfügung. Er/sie vermittelt die Kontakte zu den Experten in den jeweiligen Häusern und unterstützt die Startup-Teams bei der Weiterentwicklung ihrer Geschäftsideen. Expertenunterstützung finden die Startup-Teams sowohl in den technischen Bereichen wie auch in den administrativen Bereichen der Unternehmen. Wir betreiben echte Anlagen und haben echte Kunden. Wir haben den Zugang zu Märkten: Auch die Nutzung von Betriebsdaten für die Weiterentwicklung von Geschäftsideen können wir anbieten.

Das Startup-Team vereinbart mit dem/der Tutor(in) zu jeder Phase Ziele, deren erfolgreiche Erreichung am Ende des Intervalls gemeinsam überprüft wird. Sind die Ziele erreicht, geht es weiter in die nächste Phase. Sind die Ziele nicht erreicht, werden die Ursachen geprüft; gegebenenfalls bedeutet das auch die Beendigung des Förderprogramms.

kraftwerk unterstützt das Startup-Team über die gesamte Laufzeit des Förderprogramms. In der ersten Phase erhalten max. zwei Mitglieder des Startups jeweils 1.500 Euro monatlich. Ab dem 7. Monat erhalten max. drei und ab dem 11. Monat vier Teammitglieder jeweils 1.500 Euro pro Monat. Die Förderung soll gewährleisten, dass sich das Startup-Team als Unternehmen entwickeln kann.
Es soll lernen, sich den wachsenden Herausforderungen mit den erforderlichen Kompetenzen stellen zu können. Um das notwendige Know-how aufzubauen, werden umfangreiche Workshops angeboten.. Ein Coworking-Space dient allen Startup-Teams als Arbeitsplatz und bietet Raum für den gemeinsamen Austausch.
Als Gegenleistung für die Unterstützung erhalten wir einen Anteil von zehn Prozent an der Geschäftsidee oder dem Unternehmen des Startups. Das bindet swb oder die Partner damit als Teilhaber an die Geschäftsidee. Dadurch will swb nicht zum Unternehmer werden. swb wird auch keine Geschäftsidee ohne Absprache mit dem Startup für sich nutzen. Ganz im Gegenteil: swb wird als starker Partner des Startups ein zusätzlicher Garant für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung der Geschäftsidee sein.

Hier in Bremen sitzen unsere Experten. Hier haben wir unsere Anlagen und den Zugang zu unseren Märkten. Um eine optimale Förderung zu gewährleisten, ist daher eine hohe Präsenz der Startups hier vor Ort in Bremen erforderlich.

Zwischen dem 23. Juni und dem 13. August 2017 sind Startup-Teams aus der ganzen Welt dazu aufgerufen, sich auf die von kraftwerk ausgeschriebenen Themen zu bewerben.
Um eine Eintrittskarte für die zwischen dem 14. und 16. November 2017 stattfindenden „Selection Days“ in Bremen zu erhalten, genügt das Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars.
http://kraftwerk-accelerator.com/apply-form/
Alle ausgewählten Startups erhalten bis Mitte Oktober 2017 eine Einladung.

An den beiden Auswahltagen werden sich Experten aus den Partnerunternehmen intensiv mit den eingereichten Geschäftsideen und den anwesenden Startup-Teams befassen und darüber entscheiden, wer ab Januar 2018 im Accelerator-Programm gefördert wird.

Finaler Pitch-Tag und Verleihung der Smart Tech Trophy ist der 16. November 2017:
Nur eine kleine Anzahl der Bewerber-Teams wird eingeladen, ein letztes Mal zu präsentieren, vor Publikum. Während der feierlichen Siegerehrung erhält das Gewinner-Team die begehrte Smart Tech Trophy und einen Geldpreis von 4.000 Euro.

Energie neu denken

  • Nachhaltige Energieversorgung für Industrieunternehmen in Ballungsgebieten
  • Intelligentes Energiemanagement im Zuhause von morgen (E-Mobilität, Prosumer, etc.)
  • Digitale Sektorkopplung
  • Alternativen zum Netzausbau
  • Innovative PV-Lösungen
  • Speicher und Spitzenlastkonzepte

Digitale Geschäftsmodelle

  • Prosumer-Modelle (B2B, B2C)
  • Blockchain
  • Datennutzung zur Vermarktung von Dienstleistungen und zum Aufbau
    neuer Geschäftsmodelle
  • Smart Home (privat und gewerblich)

Industrie 4.0

  • Virtual Augmented Reality, insb. für Schulungen
  • Predictive Maintenance (Erneuerbare Energien)
  • Sprachgesteuerter Produktionssupport
  • Produktidentifikation, -verfolgung, -ortung, -steuerung

Neue Abfalllösungen

  • Recycling von Windanlagenflügeln
  • Recycling von Speichern/Batterien

Jetzt bewerben – es lohnt sich!

Gegen Nachweis übernehmen wir deine Reisekosten (pro Team) bis zu einer Höhe von:

  • Anreise aus Deutschland – 100 Euro
  • Anreise aus der Europa – 250 Euro
  • Anreise weltweit – 1000 Euro

In der Wahl der Unterkunft bist du frei und auf dich gestellt.

Zu deinen Unterbringungskosten geben wir dir gegen Nachweis ebenfalls einen Zuschuss in Höhe von bis zu 50 Euro/pro Person/pro Nacht für max. zwei Personen und max. vier Nächte.

Bringe für die Erstattung der Reise- und Unterbringungskosten bitte deine originalen Belege mit ins kraftwerk und fülle vor Ort ein Kostenerstattungsformular aus.