swb
swb stands for energy, drinking water, telecommunications and technology services for private households and businesses in the state of Bremen. With the startup initiative “kraftwerk city accelerator bremen”, swb supplements its activities in the design of the energy revolution in the region. Close cooperation with entrepreneurs and intrapreneurs, kraftwerk strives to find innovative and strategic business models for the future. kraftwerk also contributes significantly to the profile and desirability of Bremen as a business location.

swb
swb as initiator of kraftwerk
“kraftwerk – city accelerator bremen (CAB) is a startup initiative of the swb Group for the support of business concepts dealing with the “city of tomorrow”. With the Smart Tech Trophy competition, swb endeavours to find committed startups in order to usher them into an economically positive future in various ways. Current partners in this project are the Mercedes-Benz Bremen Plant and EWE AG.“

Dr. Torsten Köhne,
CEO swb

partner-mb-logo Mercedes-Benz Bremen Plant
The Mercedes-Benz plant in Bremen is the biggest private employer in the region with more than 12,500 employees and a product portfolio of ten different models. In 2015, the plant was rewarded as “Factory of the Year” in the category large-scale production. As lead plant of the C-Class, Bremen directs the worldwide production of the highest-volume model series. The assembly of the GLC is also directed by Bremen as the main production site. By the end of the decade, vehicles “Made in Bremen” will cover the entire range of intelligent drives – from combustion engines to plug-in hybrids to fuel cell and electric vehicles.

mercedes
Mercedes-Benz Bremen Plant as sponsor of kraftwerk
“Bremen embraces internationalism, innovation and the entrepreneurial spirit – an ideal environment for creative types and which provides kraftwerk’s sponsoring programme with a terrific action platform. As the largest private employer, we want to make an active contribution and spur on the innovating power of the region as a location for economic and scientific activities. At the same time, we naturally also hope to see new innovation from the region’s own startups. We rely on fresh ideas and viable concepts, particularly in the areas of mobility of the future, energy supply, transport concepts and recycling.”

Peter Theurer, Site Executive Officer
for Mercedes-Benz Bremen Plant

EWE AG
EWE strives to be the leading energy company in northern Germany. To achieve this goal EWE is consistently orientated to its customers in order to be more that just a provider of electricity and gas. EWE therefore focuses its business on people and their need for energy, IT, telecommunications, energy systems and mobility. With more than 9,000 employees and around 7.5 billion euros in revenues, EWE is one of the largest energy companies in Germany.
ewe
EWE AG as sponsor of kraftwerk
“We gladly support kraftwerk – city accelerator bremen, as we also need strengthened young startups and innovations outside of our company. In our business we are becoming increasingly reliant on innovative ideas in order to react to new market developments more quickly. We look forward to the many new perspectives from which we can develop new business ideas together.”

Michael Heidkamp,
Board Member of EWE AG

swb
swb steht im Land Bremen für Energie, Trinkwasser, Telekommunikation sowie Technische Dienstleistungen für private Haushalte und Unternehmen. Mit der Startup-Initiative „kraftwerk – city accelerator bremen“ ergänzt swb ihre Aktivitäten zur Ausgestaltung der Energiewende in der Region. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Entre- und Intrapreneuren entstehen im kraftwerk innovative strategische Geschäftsmodelle der Zukunft. Das kraftwerk leistet einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Bekanntheit und Attraktivität des Wirtschaftsstandorts Bremen.

swb
swb als Initiator von kraftwerk
„kraftwerk – city accelerator bremen (CAB) ist eine Startup-Initiative der swb-Gruppe zur Förderung von Geschäftsideen rund um die ‚Stadt von morgen‘. Mit dem Wettbewerb Smart Tech Trophy will swb engagierte Startups finden und sie auf verschiedenste Weise in eine ökonomisch positive Zukunft begleiten. Bisherige Partner sind das Mercedes-Benz Werk Bremen und die EWE AG.“

Dr. Torsten Köhne,
Vorstandsvorsitzender swb

partner-mb-logo
Mercedes-Benz Werk Bremen
Mit mehr als 12.500 Mitarbeitern ist das Mercedes-Benz Werk Bremen größter privater Arbeitgeber in der Region. Aktuell werden am Standort zehn verschiedene Modelle produziert. Im Jahr 2015 wurde das Werk als „Fabrik des Jahres“ in der Kategorie Großserienfertigung ausgezeichnet. Als Lead-Werk für die C-Klasse lenkt das Werk Bremen die weltweite Produktion der volumenstärksten Baureihe von Mercedes-Benz. Auch die Produktion des GLC wird von Bremen als Hauptproduktionsstandort gesteuert. Fahrzeuge „Made in Bremen“ werden bis Ende des Jahrzehnts die ganze Bandbreite an intelligenten Antrieben abdecken – vom klassischen Verbrennungsmotor über Plug-in-Hybride bis hin zu Brennstoffzellen- und Elektrofahrzeugen.

mercedes
Mercedes-Benz Werk Bremen als Förderer von kraftwerk
„Bremen steht für Weltoffenheit, Innovationswillen und Unternehmergeist – ein ideales Umfeld für kreative Köpfe, denen das Förderprogramm von kraftwerk eine tolle Aktionsplattform bietet. Als größter privater Arbeitgeber wollen wir hier einen aktiven Beitrag leisten und die Innovationskraft der Region als Wirtschafts- und Forschungsstandort vorantreiben. Gleichzeitig versprechen wir uns natürlich auch eigene Impulse aus der Startup-Szene. Gerade in den Bereichen Mobilität der Zukunft, Energieversorgung, Transportkonzepte und Recycling setzen wir auf frische Ideen und zukunftsfähige Konzepte.“

Peter Theurer, Standortverantwortlicher Mercedes-Benz Werk Bremen


EWE AG
EWE will  das führende Energieunternehmen in Deutschlands Norden  werden. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, richtet sich EWE konsequent auf die Kunden aus und möchte mehr sein als nur reiner Anbieter von Strom und Gas. In den Mittelpunkt seines Handelns rückt EWE deshalb den Menschen und seinen Bedarf an Energie, IT, Telekommunikation, Energiesysteme und Mobilität. Mit mehr als 9.000 Mitarbeitern und rund 7,5 Milliarden Euro Umsatz gehört EWE zu den großen Energieunternehmen in Deutschland.

ewe
EWE AG als Förderer von kraftwerk
„Wir unterstützen kraftwerk – city accelerator bremen sehr gern, da wir verstärkt junge Startups und Innovationen auch außerhalb unseres Unternehmens benötigen. In unserem Geschäft sind wir mehr und mehr auf innovative Ideen angewiesen, um auf neue Entwicklungen am Markt zügig reagieren zu können. Wir freuen uns auf viele neue Blickwinkel, mit denen wir gemeinsam neue Geschäftsideen entwickeln können.“

Michael Heidkamp,
Mitglied des Vorstands EWE AG